Aerial of Downtown Castle Rock. Original photograph from

The Downtown Development Authority of Castle Rock created a unique competition to envision opportunities in the core of the bedroom community between Denver and Colorado Springs. The City has the desire to bring the vitality back to its downtown and has offered financial incentives to business owners for improvements. The current financial incentives are in the form of matching grants for façade improvements in and around Wilcox Square.

In November, the City issued a Request for Qualifications for companies to participate in the competition with a potential award of $20,000 for the winning team. Four teams were selected from the national search to participate in the competition with a minimum award of $1,000 as a consolation prize to assist in offsetting the printing costs associated with competing.
The four teams selected to compete are four very talented companies along the Front Range of Colorado (4240 Architecture, Inc.; Collaborative Design Group; DLH Architecture; and Ohlson Lavoie Collaborative/Norris Design. I participated with the Collaborative Design Group (or CDG Team, LLC) in the competition. The participating team members of the CDG Team include Mark Tremmel, Bill Fisher, Kristin Ubben, Todd Liming, Larry Gilland, Mary Gilland, Jennifer Johnson Dastur, John Olson, J. David Thorpe, Heather Attardo, Samuel Tulipana, Sammy Hollingsworth, Ed Towarski and Wayne Timura.
Public presentations were given by the four teams on Thursday, April 22 where close to one hundred city stakeholder and business owners were present. Each team was allowed 25 minutes to present on Thursday. Additional presentation material from the CDG Team will be posted in the coming weeks when the formal design competition has concluded.